World Cafe Guests

WXPN Radio

The premier guide for new and significant artists in rock, blues, and folk - including NPR-syndicated World Cafe ®

XPoNential Radio

24/7 Musical discovery. A unique mix of emerging and heritage blues, rock, world, folk, and alt-country artists.

World Cafe Archives

Join David Dye as he navigates the World Cafe through live performances and interviews with celebrated and emerging artists.

Folk Radio

Folk music radio streaming on the web; Americana, Roots Music, recordings, and stories from folk's best.
Listen Live

Alexi Murdoch - Time Without Consequence - Zero Summer

Well, he certainly took his time, but Alexi Murdoch's first full album Time Without Consequence is set for release on June 6. Since we first heard his understated masterpiece 4 Songs in 2002, Alexi fans everywhere have been patiently waiting for some new songs. Time Without Consequence will not disappoint those people.

Murdoch has re-recorded two of the tunes from 4 Songs - namely "Orange Sky" and "Song For You" - and there's nine new tracks on Time... Seemingly at odds with the meticulous recording process he's employed for his album, Murdoch's tunes all sound like stream-of-consciousness emotions put to song - like he's just had his heart broken and needs to write the song right now! That's no simple task, my friends, but Alexi pulls it off song after song.

Another note of interest is that this London-born 32 year old remains staunchly independent. Given the buzz over his aforementioned 4 Songs e.p., Murdoch could have had his pick from any number of major record labels for this new album, but decided to release it on his own Zero Summer label. That kind of decision could not have been made without an enormous amount of faith in himself and his work.

Bottom line: Alexi Murdoch makes timeless acoustic music, stuff that would have sounded relevent 30 years ago (or more), and stuff that will still resonate as long as we listen to music. Time Without Consequence is just the beginning, really, for this singularly talented singer and songwriter.

Written by Dan Reed

Release Date 6/6/2006

Track List
1. All My Days
2. Breathe
3. Home
4. Song For You
5. Dream About Flying
6. Wait
7. Love You More
8. Blue Mind
9. Shine
10. 12
11. Orange Sky

Written by Dan Reed

BUY THIS CD: Time Without Consequence

World Cafe Guest Search

Forget trying to classify them and just listen: Railroad Earth’s Session, and “Katie Cruel’s” importance in music, tonight on...

For the last handful of weeks on Folkadelphia Radio, we’ve been focusing on a featured song, digging a little into its history,...Read More

The ever-evolving Kite Party will celebrate their new record on May 8 at PhilaMOCA

On May 6, Kite Party will unveil their second full-length album, Come on Wondering. On May 8, they’ll celebrate with a record...Read More

Singer-songwriter Abi Reimold celebrates her EP release this Saturday at Hong Kong Garden

Philly-based songstress Abi Reimold – also a photographer and occasional contributor to The Key – will celebrate the...Read More

DRGN King, Family Vacation, Big Tusk, Ghost Gum and more scheduled to play show on Record Store Day at Vinyl Revival...

If you were already having a hard time planning out how you were going to celebrate Record Store Day on April 19, things just got a...Read More

Redbull’s Sound Select pairs Philly artists Embarker and Chris Forsyth with Oneohtrix Point Never

Redbull’s Sound Select monthly feature, showcases local artists across the country is bringing some additional recognition to...Read More