WXPN Radio

The premier guide for new and significant artists in rock, blues, and folk - including NPR-syndicated World Cafe

XPN2 - XPoNential Radio

24/7 Musical discovery. A unique mix of emerging and heritage blues, rock, world, folk, and alt-country artists.

World Cafe Archives

Join the World Cafe through performances and interviews with celebrated and emerging artists.
  • font size decrease font size decrease font size increase font size increase font size

Various Artists - Sweetheart - Hear Music

Sweetheart is an excellent collection of covers of love songs featuring many favorite XPN artists. Recorded especially for this collection, it includes a mix of classic love songs and more recent tunes.

The CD includes Kathleen Edwards’ cover of Tom Petty’s “Face In The Crowd,” Aimee Mann’s version of the Burt Bachrach/Hal David classic, “What The World Needs Now,” Ron Sexsmith’s Bing Crosby-inspired “Moonlight Becomes You,”Nick Lowe’s rendition of the R&B classic, “It’s All In The Game,” and Joe Henry’s take on the Ann Peebles’ classic “Until You Came Into My Life.”

Also included on the CD are contributions from Sarah Harmer, Josh Ritter, Nada Surf, Iron & Wine, Cibo Matto's Mino Hatori (covering Madonna), Clem Snide and an alluring version of John Lennon’s “Love” by Rosie Thomas. You don’t need to wait until Valentine’s Day to catch the spirit. This album will remind you that love is always in the air.

Written by Bruce Warren

Release date January 7, 2004

Sweetheart - Love Songs
1. Nick Lowe It's All In The Game
2. Aimee Mann What The World Needs Now
3. Joe Henry Until You Came Into My Life
4. Kathleen Edwards A Face In The Crowd
5. Clem Snide I Don't Want To Set The World On Fire
6. Nada Surf Au Fond du Reve Dore
7. Rosie Thomas Love
8. Ron Sexsmith Moonlight Becomes You
9. Josh Ritter with Blake Hazard Tonight You Belong To Me
10. Sarah Harmer Home Soon (The Cherry Song)
11. Iron & Wine Ab's Song
12. Miho Hatori Crazy For You
13. Jon Hyde Your Tender Loving Care