World Cafe

WXPN Radio

The premier guide for new and significant artists in rock, blues, and folk - including NPR-syndicated World Cafe

XPN2 - Jingle Jams

XPN's own Kris Kringle, (Robert Drake) is presenting a unique mix of seasonal songs celebrating both the holiday and winter seasons.

World Cafe Archives

Join the World Cafe through performances and interviews with celebrated and emerging artists.

XPoNential Radio

  • font size decrease font size decrease font size increase font size increase font size

Bruce Hornsby - Halcyon Days - Columbia Records

It’s been two years since the release of Bruce Hornsby’s Big Swing Face and on his debut for a new label, Columbia Records, Hornsby comes out swinging with 11 great songs. On Halcyon Days, Hornsby is in classic form; it’s a 21st century album that recalls some of his best work starting with his debut The Way It Is in 1986 and on 1993’s Harbor Lights.

Some of Hornsby’s best songwriting appears on Halcyon Days. Eric Clapton plays on three songs including the outstanding “Candy Mountain Run,” and with Sting on the spirited “Gonna Be Some Changes Made.” Sting also contributes vocals on the title track. Elton John assists on the beautiful “Dreamland.” Throughout the album Hornsby and his accomplished band prance through stylistic waters on the psychedelic swirl of “Circus On The Moon,” and the ragtime inspired “What The Hell Happened.”

Halcyon Days, is inspired and filled with excellent playing and songwriting from a great artist who has always had a home on XPN.

Written by Bruce Warren

Release Date 8/17/2004

Track List:
1. Gonna Be Some Changes Made
2. Candy Mountain Run
3. Dreamland
4. Circus On The Moon
5. Halcyon Days
6. What The Hell Happened
7. Hooray For Tom
8. Heir Gordon
9. Mirror On The Wall
10. Song F
11. Lost In The Snow

Buy it now at our CD Store

Check out our other Featured Albums of the Week

Visit Artist's Official Site.