World Cafe

WXPN Radio

The premier guide for new and significant artists in rock, blues, and folk - including NPR-syndicated World Cafe

XPN2 - XPoNential Radio

24/7 Musical discovery. A unique mix of emerging and heritage blues, rock, world, folk, and alt-country artists.

World Cafe Archives

Join the World Cafe through performances and interviews with celebrated and emerging artists.
  • font size decrease font size decrease font size increase font size increase font size

Alexi Murdoch - Time Without Consequence - Zero Summer

Well, he certainly took his time, but Alexi Murdoch's first full album Time Without Consequence is set for release on June 6. Since we first heard his understated masterpiece 4 Songs in 2002, Alexi fans everywhere have been patiently waiting for some new songs. Time Without Consequence will not disappoint those people.

Murdoch has re-recorded two of the tunes from 4 Songs - namely "Orange Sky" and "Song For You" - and there's nine new tracks on Time... Seemingly at odds with the meticulous recording process he's employed for his album, Murdoch's tunes all sound like stream-of-consciousness emotions put to song - like he's just had his heart broken and needs to write the song right now! That's no simple task, my friends, but Alexi pulls it off song after song.

Another note of interest is that this London-born 32 year old remains staunchly independent. Given the buzz over his aforementioned 4 Songs e.p., Murdoch could have had his pick from any number of major record labels for this new album, but decided to release it on his own Zero Summer label. That kind of decision could not have been made without an enormous amount of faith in himself and his work.

Bottom line: Alexi Murdoch makes timeless acoustic music, stuff that would have sounded relevent 30 years ago (or more), and stuff that will still resonate as long as we listen to music. Time Without Consequence is just the beginning, really, for this singularly talented singer and songwriter.

Written by Dan Reed

Release Date 6/6/2006

Track List
1. All My Days
2. Breathe
3. Home
4. Song For You
5. Dream About Flying
6. Wait
7. Love You More
8. Blue Mind
9. Shine
10. 12
11. Orange Sky

Written by Dan Reed

BUY THIS CD: Time Without Consequence