PRESS PLAY: New Albums out May 17th - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart

Big returns and big collabs are the theme for this week’s new albums. Arriving more than 15 years after Portishead’s Third, vocalist Beth Gibbons delivers Lives Outgrown; her James Ford-produced solo debut has been in the works for at least a decade. Ooh La La is the wistful ninth album from Guster, who were just added to the lineup of this year’s XPoNential Festival. Following her second Oscars win, Billie Eilish reemerges with her bold third LP, Hit Me Hard and Soft. Cage the Elephant brings a futuristic gloss to their sturdy rock sound on Neon Pill.

With guest appearances by Taj Mahal, Allison Russell, and Aoife O’Donovan, Kaïa Kater’s Strange Medicine is a soulful twist on contemporary folk. The Avett Brothers’ self-titled 11th album marks 15 years of their fruitful partnership with producer Rick Rubin. The Road is the third solo album from China Forbes; the longtime Pink Martini singer self-produced the record which returns to her early singer-songwriter roots. Talking Heads acolytes Paramore, Lorde, Miley Cyrus, and more celebrate the group’s groundbreaking concert film with the song-for-song recreation Everyone’s Getting Involved: A Tribute to Talking Heads’ Stop Making Sense.

Listen for spotlights on new records like these (and more) every week on the XPN Morning Show and Indie Rock Hit Parade.

PRESS PLAY on these new releases

Beth GibbonsLives Outgrown
CHECK OUT: “Floating on a Moment” “Reaching Out”

GusterOoh La La
CHECK OUT: “Keep Going” “All Day”

Billie EilishHit Me Hard and Soft
CHECK OUT: “Lunch” “Skinny”

Cage the ElephantNeon Pill
CHECK OUT: “Neon Pill” “Good Time”

Kaïa KaterStrange Medicine
CHECK OUT: “Fédon (feat. Taj Mahal)” “In Montreal (feat. Allison Russell)”

The Avett BrothersThe Avett Brothers
CHECK OUT: “Love of a Girl” “Country Kid”

China ForbesThe Road
CHECK OUT: “The Road” “Full Circle”

Various Artists – Everyone’s Getting Involved: A Tribute to Talking Heads’ Stop Making Sense
CHECK OUT: Paramore – “Burning Down the House” Lorde – “Take Me to the River”



Ana EggeSharing in the Spirit, Ani DiFrancoUnprecedented Sh!t, BADBADNOTGOODMid Spiral: Chaos EP, Beren OliviaIf We’re Being Honest EP, Blitzen Trapper100’s of 1000’s, Millions of Billions, Bright Light Bright LightEnjoy Youth, Candy ApplesComatose, Childish GambinoAtavista, Collective SoulHere to Eternity, CrumbAMAMA, Don McLeanAmerican Boys, Gatecreeper – Dark Superstition, DraagActually, the quiet is nice EP, Ghostly KissesDarkroom, Have a Nice LifeVoids (Demo Compilation), Isobel CampbellBow to Love, John OatesReunion, JoywavePermanent Pleasure, Kate HudsonGlorious, Kerry KingFrom Hell I Rise, LightheadedCombustible Gems, Little FeatSam’s Place, M WagnerWe Could Stay, Malini SridharanTombeaux, Mat KearneyMat Kearney, The MavericksMoon & Stars, Morgan GarrettPurity, New Kids on the BlockStill Kids, Night BedsMountain Radio, NöelIs There More to Life Than Dancing (Reissue), of MontrealLady on the Cusp, Phoebe GoMarmalade, Rachel SageAnother Side, Ruth MoodyWanderer, ShellacTo All Trains, SlashOrgy of the Damned, So TotallyDouble Your Relaxation, SparksNo. 1 in Heaven (Reissue), SQÜRLMusic for Man Ray, Sylvan EssoSylvan Esso (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition), Terre Roche – Inner Adult, Thomas PowersA Tyrant Crying in Private, Twenty One PilotsClancy, Various Artists – Long Distance Love: A Sweet Relief Tribute to Lowell George

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently