Download a new mixtape from Sun Airway (new album, Soft Fall, out Oct. 2) - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart

Photo by Shawn Brackbill |

Sun Airway‘s music has always had a sense of audio collage to it; chamber string sections peek out like sunbursts, snippets of early electronic music swish and swirl, psychedelic rock rumbles underneath. In a mixtape the band released to Soundcloud as a free download today, the camera zooms out just a bit. Instead of hearing everything simultaneously, I Need You Close presents canopy of John Barthmus’ influences and contemporaries in a more structured 25-minute flow. In it, we hear Béla Bartok and Boards of Canada, The Chemical Brothers and David Bowie. Give it a listen:

Sun Airway also announced a string of dates with M83 today; there’s no hometown appearance among them, but we anticipate there will be a local blowout sometime around Soft Fall‘s release on Dead Oceans Records on Oct. 2. Meanwhile, you can check out the track list for I Need You Close below.

Daphni – “Ahora”
Dirty Projectors – “Impregnable Question”
Boards of Canada – “Ready Let’s Go”
Bill Fay – “I Hear You Calling”
Mozart – “Quartet in G Major”
Bartok – “String Quartet #1 in A minor”
Factory Floor – “Real Love” (Optimo Remix)
Sun Airway – “Close” (Companero Edit)
Modeselektor – “Blue Clouds”
Daphni – “Ye Ye”
Burial/Four Tet/Thom Yorke – “Ego”
The xx – “VCR” (Four Tet Remix)
Here We Go Magic – “How Do I Know?”
Chemical Brothers – “The Boxer” (DFA remix)
Daft Punk vs. Major Lazer – “Pon More Time” (Shoujo Edit)
David Bowie – “A New Career In A New Town”
Arp – “Pastoral Symphony: I. Dominoes II. Infinity Room”
Spiritualized – “Medication”

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently