Mike Doughty plays Low, Red House Painters, John Denver on covers album (coming to World Cafe Live at The Queen) - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart

Consummate music nerd Mike Doughty has always been known for impromptu song renditions and pop-culture references that punctuate his live set. This fall, he’s recorded them for posterity, and will release them as the album The Flip Is Another Honey on Snack Bar / Megaforce Records on November 6. The set will feature versions of songs by John Denver, Red House Painters, Low and Cheap Trick, as well as two new originals. Check out his version of “Take Me Home Country Roads” and the opening original track “Sunshine” below, as well as the full LP track listing. WXPN Welcomes Mike Doughty to World Cafe Live at the Queen on Saturday, October 13. The all-ages show begins at 8 p.m., tickets and information are available here.

Mike Doughty The Flip is Another Honey tracklist

1. Sunshine
2. A Fanfare
3. Jimmy Bell (originally by Cat Iron, based on a version by 15 60 75 the Numbers Band)
4. Take Me Home, Country Roads (feat. Rosanne Cash; originally by John Denver)
5. Southern Girls (originally by Cheap Trick)
6. Tightrope (based around a chorus by The Stone Roses)
7. Send in the Clowns (originally from the musical “Company,” by Stephen Sondheim)
8. Running Back (originally by Thin Lizzy)
9. Sit Down, You’re Rocking the Boat (originally from “Guys and Dolls,” by Frank Loesser)
10. Boy + Angel (originally by Doveman)
11. Reach Out (originally by Cheap Trick)
12. Ta Douleur (originally by Camille)
13. God’s Song (That’s Why I Love Mankind) (originally by Randy Newman)
14. Mistress (originally by Red House Painters)
15. Words (originally by Low)

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently