Akron/Family announce new album, share "No-Room" (playing Johnny Brenda's on 4/25) - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart

Experimental trio Akron/Family have announced details and album art (by Stephen O’Malley of Sunn O))) ) for their seventh studio album and an accompanying spring tour of North America.  Titled Sub Versesand set for release on April 30th in the U.S. through Dead Oceans, the follow-up to 2011’s cryptically dubbed S/T II: The Cosmic Birth and Journey of Shinju TNT grew out of an appreciation for American artists / large-scale sculptors Michael Heizer and James Turrell and blossomed into a “sci-fi aesthetic narrative.”  Guitarist Seth Olinsky and bassist Miles Seaton both released statements behind the big announcement, with Olinsky commenting:

Tackling distant pasts and future humanism, the pain and idiocy of our contemporary culture. How to deal with it open heartedly? The boredom, the sadness and speed. The plots within plots of Dune mirrored in many layers of sound. Creating 3D sonic atmospheres that our songs and singers inhabit.

Akron/Family will play Johnny Brenda’s on Thursday, April 25th.  Tickets for the 21+ show go on sale Friday, January 25th and more information can be found here.  Listen to “No-Room” from Sub Verseshere and then check out the full track-listing (via Pitchfork).

01 No-Room
02 Way Up
03 Until the Morning
04 Sand Talk
05 Sometimes I
06 Holy Boredom
07 Sand Time
08 Whole World is Watching
09 When I Was Young
10 Samurai

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently