Indie Rock Hit Parade Live Session: Eternal Summers - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart
Photo by Eric Schuman

Our latest Indie Rock Hit Parade session features some old friends of ours: the Roanoke band Eternal Summers! Initially forming as a duo, guitarist Nicole Yun and drummer Daniel Cundiff added bassist Jonathan Woods to the lineup a few years ago. With the added low-end came a renewed attitude and approach, heard quite powerfully on the band’s latest album, The Drop Beneath.

Longtime fans of Eternal Summers know how the band’s songs tend to veer in two distinct directions: dreamy shoegazers and breakneck rockers. The Drop Beneath splits the difference between those modes, resulting in an exiting and unpredictable mix of songs that are at once fresh and familiar. Check out Nicole’s dynamic vocals on “A Burial,” or how she employs a woozy flange on her guitar for “Gouge.” Once the band tears into “Never Enough,” they sound like they could rock on forever, but “Keep Me Away” serves as the comedown to a breathless workout of a session.

Download and stream the complete Eternal Summers session below, and check out a video performance of “A Burial”

Eternal Summers perform “A Burial” for WXPN’s Indie Rock Hit Parade live sessions from WXPN FM on Vimeo.

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently