PREMIERE: Stream the new Fort Frances album, Alio - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart
Fort Frances | Photo by Christopher Hiltz | Courtesy of the artist

The Chicago band Fort Frances release their new album, Alio, on April 22nd. Fronted by singer-songwriter David McMillin, WXPN Welcomes the band to World Cafe Live on Wednesday, April 27th.

Along with lead singer, guitarist and songwriter McMillin, Fort Frances includes Aaron Kiser on drums and vocals, and Jeff Piper on bass and vocals. The roots of Alio (pronounced ah-low) begin in Lithuania in 2015, where the band became an unlikely household name. In 2012, McMillin and his band mates recorded a cover of “Summertime”, originally recorded by DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince, that went on to become a big hit in Lithuania. Fast forward to 2015, and the band was invited to play one of the city’s biggest summer festivals, Loftas Fest. During their week’s stay in the Lithuania, McMillin and the band were energized to return home and finish Alio, which means hello in Lithuanian.

The new 11 song collection perfectly captures the band’s current moment in their indie-pop evolution. Sitting in a musical nexus where Spoon, Josh Ritter, and The Lumineers all bang heads, yet with their own unqiue voice, Fort Frances have delivered a smartly crafted album. Highlights include “Take The Wheel,” “Building A Wall,” and “Best of Luck.”

Below, stream Alio in its entirety.

Go to the WXPN Concert Calendar for tickets and more information about the band’s show at World Cafe Live on Wednesday, April 27th.

Purchase Alio here.

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently