Listen to Obvious + Unafraid, the new LP from Psalmships
Psalmships | photo via Facebook

Resident ghostfolk/slowcore outfit Psalmships are back with Obvious + Unafraid, the first release of new material since 2014’s I Sleep Alone. Primary songwriter Joshua Britton is joined by friends Chelsea Sue Allen and Brad Hinton on the recordings, which place us deep into the Bucks County musician’s psyche as he ruminates on heartbreak, death and his place in the universe.

As we found on last year’s compilation of b-sides and unreleased tracks, the songs on Obvious + Unafraid are remarkably varied despite Britton’s general disposition towards minimalism. Opening song “Eulogy” is the barest of bones and souls, while “Death to Everyone” is a cavernous epic of dark rock that haunts in its subtleties. Gently placed between the Psalmships originals are a handful of well-picked covers, including tracks written by Jason Molina for Songs: Ohia, Damien Jurado, Phosporescent and Bonnie “Prince” Billie.

Listen to Obvious + Unafraid below and revisit Britton’s 2014 Folkadelphia session here.

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently