Sir Ray Davies of The Kinks partners with The Jayhawks on American retrospective "Poetry" - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart
Ray Davies | photo by Steve Gullick | courtesy of the artist

British mastermind Sir Raymond Douglas Davies, better known for his jaunt with rock staple The Kinks, announced his new record Americana and released his first single “Poetry”. The single marks something special for Davies, as he enlisted alt-country kids The Jayhawks as recording partners.

A gloomy look at the materialism in America, Davies uses Dylan-esque vocals to soulfully inquire where art has gone in our country (“And every shop window goods are designed to please / Oh but I ask / Where is the poetry?”). Although some bad blood may still come from The Kinks’ 1960s ban from America, Davies raises some good points inside an enjoyable yet simplistic indie rock ballad, all from a third-party source that may become ignored in the next couple years.

Americana comes out April 21st and will house newer tracks and spoken word from Davies’ autobiography; album art and the tracklist can be found below, along with a stream of “Poetry.”

Ray Davies, Americana

  1. “Americana”
  2. “The Deal”
  3. “Poetry”
  4. “Message From The Road”
  5. “A Place In Your Heart”
  6. “The Mystery Room”
  7. “Silent Movie”
  8. “Rock ‘N’ Roll Cowboys”
  9. “Change For Change”
  10. “The Man Upstairs”
  11. “I’ve Heard That Beat Before”
  12. “A Long Drive Home To Tarzana”
  13. “The Great Highway”
  14. “The Invaders”
  15. “Wings Of Fantasy”

Ray Davies’ Americana | via NPR Music

Related Content

No news added recently