Big Thief | Photo by Shervin Lainez

Brooklyn’s Big Thief announced their highly anticipated follow-up to 2016’s Masterpiece. Titled Capacity, the record comes out on June 9th through Saddle Creek. The indie rock four-piece revealed their plans with a new music video for the record’s hushed first single “Mythological Beauty.” It follows singer/guitarist Adrianne Lenker’s The Revenent-like adventures through a snow-glossed woods, sheltering and attempting to save a blanket-draped man (guitarist Buck Meek) before a mysterious woman (played by Lenker’s mother) offers some help.

Although the video is an interpretive piece of art on its own, the song itself is a beauty, as Lenker’s cool, calm and collected voice floats in front of a relaxed back section. Nipping at the heels of genre contributors Frankie Cosmos and Real Estate, Big Thief’s more acoustic take on this NY chill-indie growth is hypnotic and relaxing with its touch of saccharine hooks and bouncing percussion. Throw this on at the beach or solo nights in your apartment, it’s a sound meant to slit the stress.

Watch the video below, and find artwork/tracklisting for Capacity. Also, catch the band on their summer tour, just announcing a stop out east at Arcade Lancaster on June 7th (more information/tickets can be found at the XPN Concert Page).

Capacity by Big Thief | courtesy of the artist

Capacity by Big Thief | courtesy of the artist
























Capacity Tracklist

1. Pretty Things
2. Shark Smile
3. Capacity
4. Watering
5. Coma
6. Great White Shark
7. Mythological Beauty
8. Objects
9. Haley
10. Mary
11. Black Diamonds