First Aid Kit | photo by Liz Waldie for WXPN

We heard First Aid Kit unveil their new single “Postcard” during last week’s Free at Noon, and now that there’s a recorded version out in the world, we can listen to it on repeat. “Postcard” is the second single from the Swedish folk duo’s just-announced upcoming LP Ruins, following “It’s a Shame.” Ruins, the duo’s fourth full-length and the long-awaited follow-up to 2014’s Stay Gold, will be released January 19, 2018 via Columbia Records.

The warm but melancholy “Postcard” encompasses everything we love about First Aid Kit. Sisters Klara and Johanna Söderberg place their signature sibling harmonies at the center of the new track, backed by timeless folk arrangements and driven by heartbreakingly nostalgic lyrics. It’s sweet sadness and sounds familiar and fresh all at once, drawing upon the sisters’ country and Americana influences and their own lived experiences to give a contemporary twist to a classic sound.

Klara Söderberg told Rolling Stone Country:

“‘Postcard’ is one of the most traditional sounding songs we’ve ever written, and we wanted the production to mirror that … It’s not a resentful song, but more of a reaching out to a lover to wish them well on their journey in the midst of having to let them go.”

First Aid Kit’s North American tour makes a stop at Union Transfer on February 10; it’ll be their first proper headlining gig in Philly since 2014 and they’ve clearly been missed around these parts because the show is already sold out. 

Watch the lyric video for “Postcard” below.

Ruins tracklist:
1. Rebel Heart
2. It’s a Shame
3. Fireworks
4. Postcard
5. To Live a Life
6. My Wild Sweet Love
7. Distant Star
8. Ruins
9. Hem of Her Dress
10. Nothing Has to Be True