Eight | photo by Scott Troyan | courtesy of the artist

After sharing a video for the sunny and anthemic “839” a few weeks ago, Eight are back with a new release — the five-track EP, called Eight, is out now via Dead Broke Rekerds. The Philly power trio released their first EP, EIGHT, in 2015 and joined us for a Key Studio Session early this year to play some of their new songs.

The band’s talent-packed star-studded lineup brings together three multi-band musicians: guitarist and vocalist Mimi Gallagher (Year of Glad, NONA), bassist and vocalist Cat Park (Amanda X), and drummer Pat Brier (Queen Jesus, Three Man Cannon) combine forces to create Eight’s effortlessly energetic yet laid-back sound.

Eight’s fuzzy pop-punk spirit comes through in full force on the new EP, starting with the steady opening track “Alone” and continuing with the riff-filled “Blame” all the way through to the brooding closing track “Sin.” Flawlessly tight instrumentals and Gallagher’s and Park’s signature harmonies drive the fast-paced and concise songs, infusing all the talent of the supergroup into every breath and making the small space of each track sound like its own world.

Listen to Eight via Bandcamp below.