Flasher | photo by Senia Lopez for WXPN | senialopez.photography

Joining us in the studio for this Indie Rock Hit Parade Live Session is the band that’s behind one of 2018’s finest debuts. Though they formed only a few years ago, Flasher have quickly become mainstays of Washington, DC’s bountiful punk scene. Formed by guitarist Taylor Mulitz (who is also a member of the equally lauded band Priests), bassist Daniel Saperstein and drummer Emma Baker, Flasher’s early EPs and singles were released on Sister Polygon, a DC-based label the members founded. When it came time to release Constant Image, Flasher’s full-length debut, they made the jump to Domino Records, who put out the album earlier this year. Before their show at Everybody Hits, Flasher visited our studio to perform a few of the new songs.

Wasting no time, Flasher burst out of the gate with “Pressure,” a headrush of jittery rhythms and deft harmonies. The latter might not be a hallmark of many art-punk outfits, but the vocal interplay between Mulitz, Saperstein and Baker is one of Flasher’s signatures. The band evokes their hometown’s hardcore roots in the breakneck “Who’s Got Time?” and a web-exclusive performance of “Skim Milk.” Closing the session is a performance of “XYZ,” with its unforgettable springy guitar line guiding its scorched-earth tone.

Listen to Flasher’s Indie Rock Hit Parade live session below, and check out Senia Lopez’s photos from the studio! Also, if you happen to be travelling abroad this fall, you can see Flasher in Europe on the dates listed below…