Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah | photo courtesy of the artist

Jazz trumpeter Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah just announced his new album, Ancestral Recall, which will be released on March 22 on Ropeadope Records. Adjuah is a critically-acclaimed jazz-fusion artist whose sound seeks to connect rather than separate jazz and non-jazz styles. His 2017 album, Emancipation Procrastination, is nominated for Best Contemporary Instrumental Album at this year’s GRAMMY Awards. Adujah says his new album “continues his mission to unify people via their musical and cultural voices by tearing down the sonic and social constructs that separate them.” The album will redefine genre lines and explore a new, expansive sound world that encompasses everything from West African and Carribbean rhythms to trap music and alt-rock.

Ancestral Recall‘s title track was released today featuring contemporary poet, Saul Williams. Additional collaborators on the song include Elena Pinderhughes, Weedie Braimah, Logan Richardson, Mike Larry Draw, Chris Turner, and others. The track features percussion and a soaring trumpet. William’s poetry is a deep-dive exploration of identity politics. From this track, Ancestral Recall promises to be a powerful, evocative, and entirely innovative album that will combust all that we know about jazz-fusion today.

1. Her Arrival
2. I Own the Night (feat. Saul Williams)
3. The Shared Stories of Rivals [KEITA] (feat. Saul Williams)
4. Forevergirl (feat. Chris Turner & Mike Larry Draw)
5. Diviner [Devan]
6. Overcomer
7. Songs She Never Heard (feat. Logan Richardson)
8. Ritual [Rise of Chief Adjuah]
9. Prophesy
10. Before (feat. Elena Pinderhughes)
11. Double Consciousness
12. Ancestral Recall (feat. Saul Williams)
US Tour Dates:
Feb 5-8: New York, NY – Blue Note
Feb 14: Amherst, MA – UMass Amherst
Feb 15: Chapel Hill, NC – UNC Chapel Hill Memorial Hall
Feb 19: Seattle, WA – Nectar Lounge
Feb 21: Oakland, CA – The New Parish
Feb 22: Sacramento, CA – Harlow’s Restaurant and Nightclub
Feb 23: Los Angeles, CA – The Roxy