Last October, The National frontman Matt Berninger announced his debut solo album titled Serpentine Prison.

This morning, Berninger released the record’s title track. “Serpentine Prison” is a relatively sparse song compared to other efforts from The National: Berninger’s signature baritone takes the center stage, underlined by careful guitar strums. Synths and a subdued brass section support the tender melody, as Berninger deadpans “Tell her I miss her / In a serpentine prison.”

Produced by Booker T. Jones, Serpentine Prison will include collaborations with other members of The National including Scott Devendorf, Ben Lanz, and Kyle Resnick. Other contributors include Matt Barrick, Andrew Bird, Mike Brewer, Hayden Desser, Gail Ann Dorsey, Teddy Jones, Brent Knopf, Walter Martin, Sean O’Brien, Mickey Raphael, Matt Sheehy, and Harrison Whitford.

Check out the music video, directed by Tom Berninger and Chis Sgroi, below. Serpentine Prison will be released on October 2nd through Book Records. Purchase or stream the title track here.