Listen to Joanna Sternberg's intimate Free At Noon set - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart
Joanna Sternberg Free at Noon - 06.03.2023

With their second album for Fat Possum coming out later this month, Joanna Sternberg was feeling good when they took the stage for Free at Noon. “My dreams are coming true and it’s really awesome, I’m loving it basically,” they said, quickly followed by “This is a very depressing song.”

Their performance, a teaser of material from the new album I’ve Got Me, was a mix of whimsical and warm indie folk melodies and intimate, often heartrending lyrics. The set was just them and the guitar, and despite the heavy and vulnerable lyrical content, their demeanor between songs was sweet and quite funny. Sternberg apologized for the music being sad; they made self-deprecating cracks about writing “poser type songs” — their take on an Irish waltz, for instance, or their take on a Roy Orbison pop tune.

But the songs themselves were striking, and got the room eagerly anticipating I’ve Got Me, which is out June 30th on Fat Possum. Pre-order the record here, listen to Sternberg’s Free at Noon performance above, and check out photos and the setlist below.

Joanna Sternberg
Free At Noon
  • People Are Toys To You
  • I’ve Got Me
  • Stockholm Syndrome
  • Don’t You Ever
  • I Will Be With You
  • I’ll Make You Mine
  • This Is Not Who I Want To Be
  • The Song
Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently