Julia Pratt takes Free At Noon on an emotional journey - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart
Julia Pratt Free at Noon - 11.03.2023

Philly Native Julia Pratt delivered an astonishing performance this past Friday on the World Cafe Live stage. The singer-songwriter’s charming demeanor and beautiful vocals blew the crowd away as she and her band performed songs from her newest EP, Two to Tango.

Pratt shared the stage with bassist Pete Dennis, drummer Satchel Schwartz, and guitarist Eric McGarry, whose musical chemistry was unbelievable. The band began with the song “Hopeless Romantic,” the openeing track on Pratt’s latest EP. Her vocals reverberated throughout the dimly lit room, sounding smooth and powerful; Schwartz was very precise with his drumming for this song, and as the set moved on, he creatively utilized tambourines, shakers, and jazz brushes.   

On “All I’m Missing,” Pratt showcased the technical abilities that she holds within her voice, singing complicated runs and effortlessly matching the harmonies of her backing track. Her stage presence was captivating, and she was beaming with charisma while also making space for her bandmates; Eric McGarry took the opportunity to dazzle the audience with two impressive guitar solos, maintaining the funk in the performance. 

Pratt engaged heavily with the crowd throughout her entire performance, sharing personal anecdotes that unlocked the meanings behind her music. Before the track “Odyssey,” she explained that it was about the emotions she felt when hearing that a family member had died due to a drug overdose. Pratt’s softly serenade conveyed this with McGarry tender strums, Schwartz’s light percussion and Dennis’ plucked bass. 

Another theme that Pratt often explored during this performance was unrequited love. The band performed the alluring “Little Bug,” which touched on this experience, and on it, Pratt tapped into her classic jazz vocals, floating over the bossa nova instrumentals, and even providing the audience with impressive jazz scats. She pulled out a bright and shiny white guitar for this track, helping out the band as she sang. Towards the end of the song, the three band members delivered a breathtaking jam session for the crowd, where there was fluent communication between each instrument. The crowd roared in support of their immense talent. 

The show ended on a powerful note, with incredible performances of the tracks “Backseat” and “A Little Love” that let Pratt showcase her powerful belting vocals, taking audience members through an intense emotional journey. If you weren’t able to be there, watch a full video of Pratt’s Free At Noon concert below, and listen to her new project Two To Tango here.

Julia Pratt - Free At Noon Concert (Full Set)
Julia Pratt
Free at Noon
  • Hopeless Romantic
  • All I'm Missing
  • Odyssey
  • Julia Baby
  • Little Bug
  • Would It Kill Ya
  • Backseat
  • A Little Love
Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently