Weezer will play 'The Blue Album' in full at Wells Fargo Center this September - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart
WXPN
Search
Donate
Menu

Album anniversary tours are big business, and for quirky alt rock power poppers Weezer, the time has come to mark 30 years since their breakout self-titled debut, affectionately known by fans as The Blue Album. The band’s late summer tour, themed Voyage To The Blue Planet, finds them playing the album in full at Wells Fargo Center on Friday, September 13th, and tickets go on sale this Friday, March 15th, at 10 a.m.

Released on DGC records in 1994 at the height of that boutique major label’s influence, The Blue Album was propelled by dazzling MTV visuals (particularly the iconic, nostalgically Happy Days-themed “Buddy Holly” video), slamming distortion pedal fuzz riffs, self-deprecating lyrics (which some might define as proto-emo), and a classic sense of melody indebted to The Cars and The Beach Boys. It was an instant classic, and the band has had a vast run of albums in the years since which, if not consistent in quality — Make Believe and Pacific Daydream had their moments, Hurley and The Teal Album, maybe less so? — were quite consistent in productivity, landing approximately every other year. Additionally, Weezer’s semi-ironic cover of Toto’s “Africa” a few years back scored them one of the biggest hits of their career.

To make this a particularly epic alternative-era package tour, respected fuzz-rock jammers Dinosaur Jr. will open the show, along with wacky psychedelicists The Flaming Lips. Check out music from everyone all around below; for tickets and information, head to WXPN’s Concert Calendar.

Weezer - Buddy Holly
Dinosaur Jr. - Feel The Pain
The Flaming Lips - She Don't Use Jelly
Weezer - Only In Dreams

Tour Dates
Wed, Sept. 4, 2024 – Saint Paul, MN – Xcel Energy Center
Fri, Sept. 6, 2024 – Rosemont, IL – Allstate Arena
Sat, Sept. 7, 2024 – Columbus, OH – Nationwide Arena
Sun, Sept. 8, 2024 – Toronto, ON, Canada – Scotiabank Arena
Tues, Sept. 10, 2024 – Boston, MA – TD Garden
Wed, Sept. 11, 2024 – New York, NY – Madison Square Garden
Fri, Sept. 13, 2024 – Philadelphia, PA – Wells Fargo Center
Sat, Sept. 14, 2024 – Washington, DC – The Anthem*
Tues, Sept. 17, 2024 – Nashville, TN – Bridgestone Arena
Wed, Sept. 18, 2024 – Greenville, SC – Bon Secours Wellness Arena
Fri, Sept. 20, 2024 – Orlando, FL – Kia Center
Sat, Sept. 21, 2024 – Hollywood, FL – Hard Rock Live at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Hollywood*
Fri, Sept. 27, 2024 – Austin, TX – Moody Center
Sat, Sept. 28, 2024 – Houston, TX – Toyota Center
Sun, Sept. 29, 2024 – Dallas, TX – American Airlines Center
Tues, Oct. 1, 2024 – Loveland, CO – Blue FCU Arena
Fri, Oct. 4, 2024 – Seattle, WA – Climate Pledge Arena
Sat, Oct 5, 2024 – Vancouver, BC, Canada – Rogers Arena
Sun, Oct. 6, 2024 – Portland, OR – Moda Center
Tues, Oct. 8, 2024 – Sacramento, CA – Golden 1 Center
Wed, Oct. 9, 2024 – San Francisco, CA – Chase Center
Fri, Oct. 11, 2024 – Inglewood, CA- Intuit Dome

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently