Loud, dark, and seriously heavy: Stream Nothing's debut album, Guilty of Everything - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart
Photo by Shawn Brackbill/Courtesy of the artist

Philly noise-rockers Nothing release their debut album, Guilty of Everything, on March 4th. You can stream the album in its entirety here.

Nothing is Dominic Palermo, Brandon Setto, Chris Betts and Kyle Kimball. The band came together in 2011 when guitarist and lead vocalist Palermo met guitarist Setto and began writing songs together. They released an EP, produced by Julian Grefe and Justin Gellar of Pink Skull.

Guilty Of Nothing has musical touch points grounded in the noisy wail of My Bloody Valentine, the shoegazey drone of Slowdive, and the blissful loud/soft textures of Ride’s classic album, Nowhere. In his review of the album, NPR Music’s Robin Hilton calls the record “loud, dark and seriously heavy rock.” He continues:

A profoundly thoughtful, beautifully crushing wave of droning distortion, the album is epic and stirring, even unnerving at times, but it carves a path toward enlightened serenity. Guilty of Everything opens with a warm, ringing guitar as (Dominic) Palermo, his gentle falsetto buried just behind the mix, sings of “summers spent in a well,” alone and far from home. It’s melancholy, but it feels like a reassuring balm to life’s ills — just before the song erupts with the pulverizing tumult that comes to define much of the record.

Guilty of Everything was engineered and mixed by Jeff Ziegler here in Philly at his studio, Uniform Reocrd, and was co-produced by Zeigler, Palermo and Setto.

Stream the album here. Below, listen to “Bent Nail,” and “Dig” from the album.

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently