Explore new soundscacpes on The Interest Group's EP 1 - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart
The Interest Group | Photo by Max R. Holland

Local indie psych band The Interest Group has released a new effort called EP 1.  The five-song collection comes after the four-piece’s 2013 debut 7″ “Passenger” / “Vagabond Dreamer.”

Songwriting partners Marissa Lesnick and Yohsuke Araki, along with bassist Kyle Garvey and drummer Steven Urgo, have developed a singular mood and sound over the last couple years, first manifested as their own with a cover of The Network’s “The Boys and The Girls.”  With EP 1, the 60s psych ripples out to encompass overtones from a variety of musical corners.  For example, though the Jefferson Airplane-esque snare rolls are present on “Locked On,” Lesnick’s vocal agility pulls more from a world music direction.  And lead track “Fear” opens with a soundscape reminiscent of Urgo’s atmospheric experimental / pop solo recordings from 2010 / 2011 before building into a mega-jam with crunchy guitars and Araki’s deep new wave vocals.

Stream the full EP below and check out their debut single here.

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently