Stream The Lawsuits' new EP Tumbled

The Lawsuits | Photo by Michelle Montgomery |

Ahead of its official release on September 23rd, Culture Collide is currently streaming The Lawsuits new EP Tumbled.  The four-track album follows up the local indie rockers’ Cool Cool Cool LP and once again establishes the group as a musical chameleon.

The record includes opening track “(Darla Nye) Never Love Someone” (which we first heard at the end of August and which, to our ears’ surprise, utilizes auto-tune in a cleverly subtle and satisfying way).  Next on the list is the Vanessa Winters-helmed “Gimme Gimme,” an upbeat dance number with a 2000s-tv-pop sound.

Winters also takes the lead on closer “You Aren’t the Same,” a deep, bluesy cut that brightens up with bubbling instrumentals.  Between the Winters tracks stands “Sweet Marcelle,” reaching back to the soulfulness of the seventies, complete with saxophone.  On the EP’s variety of sounds, singer/songwriter Brian Dale Allen Strouse said:

I think we were trying to make universally relatable songs that sound like they were created in a studio.  We feel strongly attached to this project because it serves as a snapshot for what the future album is gonna look like.

You can stream Tumbled in full over at Culture Collide.  Check out a video of The Lawsuits performing “Long Drive Home” at this year’s XPoNential Music Festival below and pick up tickets to their record release show at Johnny Brenda’s on September 26th here.

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently