Northern Faces | Photo by Shervin Lainez | | courtesy of the artist

With three years of hard touring and a hot EP under their belts, punk-infused Albany outfit Northern Faces buckled down this year and made a record that practically demands you shout along with it. Produced by Casey Bates of Portugal. The Man, the self-titled LP will be released on April 21st via venerable hardcore label Equal Vision Records.

Following up on the jangley “Wait Wait Wait,” which the band released back in December, we’re psyched to bring you a premiere of the album’s opening track today. “Cops Come” is an infectious rager that roars and sizzles; it reminds me of the hooks heard in vintage Social D, the angular drive of Fugazi, and the fist-pumping ferocity of Rocket From the Crypt and Japandroids. It’s also got a bit of a classic 80s flair, as singer-guitarist Bryan Shortell explains.

“Cops Come” is one of those songs that we’ve always wanted to write. We love British rock, big hooks, and Stevie Ray style guitar solos. This song has a bit of all of that in there, but I think it still sounds very “right now” – it still has a modern feel. “Guitar” is kind of a dirty word in the alternative world right now, and we want to try and change that. Consider this song our battle cry.

Listen below, and then listen again – it’s one you’ll want to have on repeat.

In addition to the new record in April, Northern Faces is heading out on a spring tour with label mates The Dear Hunter; they’ll be in Philly on May 12th at Union Transfer, and you can get tickets and information on that show at the XPN Concert Calendar.

Grab your pre-order of Northern Faces over at the Equal Vision website, check out “Cops Come” below and get a look at the album art and track listing.

[soundcloud url=”” params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

Northern Faces track listing
1. Cops Come
2. Wait, Wait, Wait
3. Back and At It
4. Stay Away
5. Hard to Breathe
6. Alone and Forgotten
7. Don’t Care
8. Get Out the Way
9. Leave Home
10. Brother (Into the Mix)