Grateful Dead to launch massive 50th anniversary reissue series of their entire discography - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart

To celebrate their 50th anniversary, the Grateful Dead have announced a massive album reissue series that will begin in January and will include two-disc deluxe editions and limited vinyl picture discs of each the group’s studio and live albums.

The reissues start with the January 20th release of the band’s self-titled debut album, originally released on March 17th, 1967. Recorded and mixed in just five days, the debut is known for its eclectic mix of American musical styles from jug band stomps (“Sitting On Top of the World”) and Chicago blues (“Good Morning Little School Girl”), to the psychedelic rambling rock of “The Golden Road (To Unlimited Devotion),” the band’s cover of “Morning Dew,” co-written by Canadian folk singer Bonnie Dobson, and the sole Garcia-penned tune on the album, “Cream Puff War.”

Remastered from the original tapes, the release will feature a bonus disc that includes an unreleased concert from July 29, 1966 and select cuts from July 30, 1966 at the P.N.E. Garden Auditorium in British Columbia.

The band has also opened subscriptions to the Grateful Dead 7-inch singles collection, including reissue pressings of the first four of the band’s 27 singles on 7-inch colored vinyl, each limited to 10,000 copies. Go here for more information about the reissue series.

Below, listen to the debut album in its entirety.

Related Content

No news added recently