Conor Oberst teams up with The Felice Brothers, Jim James, Gillian Welch and more on Salutations - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart
Conor Oberst and The Felice Brothers | photo by Julia Brokaw | courtesy of the artist

Last year, singer-songwriter Conor Oberst spent a winter in Omaha and recorded Ruminations, a stunning and solitary meditation on life and isolation, and his best record in a decade.

This year, he returns to that body of work in a full-band Americana-rock context with longtime friends and collaborators The Felice Brothers. Joining them are an impressive roster of guests including Jim James, Blake Mills, Maria Taylor, M Ward, Gillian Welch, Gus Seyffert, Pearl Charles, Nathaniel Walcott, and Jonathan Wilson. The Salutations collection will come out on Nonesuch Records on March 17th, expanding on the ten songs of Ruminations and unveiling an additional ten songs.

This winter and spring, Oberst will go on tour with The Felice Brothers as his backing band; check out the tour dates below, as well as the album art and track listing. To get a now-and-then view, watch the newly-released video “A Little Uncanny” from Salutations, and compare it alongside the original version on Ruminations.

Tour Dates

27 Sydney, AUS @ Sydney Opera House

9 Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room Lounge
10 Kansas City, MO @ Madrid Theater
11 Memphis, TN @ Minglewood Hall
12 Tulsa, OK @ Cain’s Ballroom
14 San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger
16 Spicewood, TX @ Luck Reunion
17 Houston, TX @ Warehouse Live
18 New Orleans, LA @ The Civic Theatre
19 Macon, GA @ Cox Capitol Theatre
21 Asheville, NC @ The Orange Peel
22 Chattanooga, TN @ Track 29
23 Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse
24 McMinnville, TN @ Bluegrass Underground
25 St Louis, MO @ The Pageant
26 Iowa City, IA @ The Englert Theater

12 Oakland, CA @ The Fox
13 Los Angeles, CA @ The Greek Theater
19 Austin, TX @ ACL Live at The Moody Theater

14-16 Louisville, KY @ Forecastle Festival
20 Brooklyn, NY @ Celebrate Brooklyn
21 Boston, MA @ The House of Blues

Salutations album art

Salutations album art

Track List

1. Too Late To Fixate
2. Gossamer Thin
3. Overdue
4. Afterthought
5. Next Of Kin
6. Napalm
7. Mamah Borthwick
8. Till Saint Dymphna’s Kicks Us Out
9. Barbary Coast
10. Tachycardia
11. Empty Hotel By The Sea
12. Anytime Soon
13. Counting Sheep
14. Rain Follows The Plow
15. You All Loved Him Once
16. A Little Uncanny
17. Salutations

Related Content

No news added recently