New Music Show Preview w/ Radiohead, Waxahatchee & more! - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart

Our New Music Show returns after the Memorial Day holiday, and we’ve got some catching up to do.  Of course, Dan Auerbach just released Waiting on A Song so we’ll dip into that album.  Plus, we represent Philly with new music from The Districts, Waxahatchee (read below), and a super cool collaboration between trumpeter Matt Cappy and rapper Chill Moody.  Also, another song from Offa Rex (The Decemberists and Olivia Chaney) with Colin Meloy on lead.  And we’ll give you a preview of another tune from Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit’s new album.  Whew! We’ll hear all that and a lot more tonight starting at 8pm!


Radiohead is recognizing the 20th anniversary of their seminal album OK Computer by dipping into the archives and pulling out some new/old material.  Maybe we’re cheating a little bit, but while “I Promise” is technically a song recorded for those sessions, we’re filing it under “new”.  OK Computer OKNOTOK 1997 2017 features a remastered version of the original album, plus some b-sides & rarities  that’ll be out on June 23rd.  “I Promise” is the first of those new/old songs to find its way to audiences and it serves as a reminder of just what an impact that album had.  Boosted by a string section, the song simmers in its intensity and shimmers in its beauty.  It makes you think, if this landed on the cutting room floor, what else is in the vaults?

WAXAHATCHEE “Never Been Wrong”

July 14th can’t come soon enough.  We’re counting down the days until Out In The Storm, the new album from Waxahatchee is released, but thankfully we have another new song to tide us over.  “Never Been Wrong” is sharp and cutting, big on guitars and it finds Katie Crutchfield putting herself in a vulnerable position as a songwriter but at the same time extremely confident as an artist.  While we’ve only heard a couple songs from Out In The Storm, songs like this really heighten expectations.  It’s still early, but it feels as if we’re witnessing an artist that is truly finding her voice and it’s pretty exciting.


Most of the time with our ‘First Impression’ artist, it’s an organic process: we hear it, we like it, we share it with you.  This week, we were looking for a rock band; something with some guts and attitude.  The B Boys hit the mark with their new album Dada (which comes out June 16th).  They deliver guitar driven, punk inspired rock and roll that while at times is reckless, yet manages to be tuneful and resilient.

If you miss anything on the show or want to keep up on new music, make sure to subscribe to our ‘XPN Best New Music’ Playlist on Spotify:

Related Content

No news added recently