New Pornographers announce new album, release dancefloor-ready single "Falling Down The Stairs Of Your Smile" - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart
New Pornographers | photo by Ebru Yildiz | courtesy of the artist

Beloved Vancouver-based rock band The New Pornographers have announced that their new album In The Morse Code Of Brake Lights will come out September 27th on the band’s own label, Collected Work, in partnership with Concord. The band have also released the album’s lead single, “Falling Down The Stairs Of Your Smile,” which finds them exploring chaotic relationships through their refined blend of new wave and pop rock.

The dramatic cover illustration for In The Morse Code Of Brake Lights features a cracked marble statue head crumbling atop a bed of flowers as the stars watch from above. A.C. Newman, who produced the new album, remarked that, “There are so many songs like ‘the something of love’—you know, there’s ‘The Book of Love,’ ‘The Freeway of Love’…. Then I thought of ‘falling down the stairs of your love,’ and I thought, that kind of works. I think it has that element of how do you deal with the ideas of love and happiness in this world right now? When current events are stressful, that makes a stress on people’s relationships, and you’re trying to figure out how to be happy in this loving relationship in this world that seems ugly at every turn.”

In The Morse Code Of Brake Lights comes out on September 27th. The New Pornographers will go on tour beginning this month, and their tour will bring them to Union Transfer on Friday, November 8th.

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently