Son Little's aloha LP is out in January; listen to the meditative single "suffer" - WXPN
WXPN
Search
Donate
Menu

XPN favorite Son Little just announced their latest project — the aloha LP, to be released on ANTI- Records on January 31st.

The project of singer-guitarist Aaron Livingston caught a lot of listeners’ ears with the rambling soul-tinged rocker “River” back in 2015, and over the course of subsequent releases, we heard Son Little explore electronic textures, reggae rhythms, and psychedelic expanses.

The lead single from their third album aloha is a bit of a downbeat dreamscape, adding yet another texture to the Son Little palette. Built around minimal instrumentation, moving vocals, and a breezy beat “suffer” recalls Stevie Wonder at his most contemplative. Its message of finding your own bliss in a damaged world resonates in the lyric “We don’t have to wait in the shadows for the sunshine,” and the song comes paired with a cinematic music video directed by Daria Geller.

Watch the video below, grab a pre-order of alohahere, and catch Son Little live at the Chameleon Club in Lancaster on Saturday, November 23rd, or at World Cafe Live in Philly on Saturday, November 29th. Tickets and information on both shows can be found at the XPN Concert Calendar.

aloha Tracklist
1. hey rose
2. about her. Again
3. mahalia
4. bbbaby
5. suffer
6. that’s the way
7. 3rd eye weeping
8. don’t wait up
9. o clever one
10. neve give up
11. after all (i must be wrong)

Son Little Tour Dates
Mon. Nov. 11 – San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Hall
Wed. Nov. 13 – Portland, OR @ The Old Church
Thu. Nov. 14 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
Sat. Nov. 16 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The State Room
Sun. Nov. 17 – Denver, CO @ Daniels Hall
Tue. Nov. 19 – Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center
Wed. Nov. 20 – Chicago, IL @ Old Town School of Folk Music
Thu. Nov. 21 – Ferndale, MI @ Magic Bag
Fri. Nov. 22 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Thunderbird Café & Music Hall
Sat. Nov. 23 – Lancaster, PA @ Chameleon Club
Mon. Nov. 25 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Tue. Nov. 26 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Fri. Nov. 29 – Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live
Sat. Nov. 30 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Sun. Dec. 1 – Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle
Tue. Dec. 3 – Nashville, TN @ WMOT Finally Friday – 3rd & Lindsley
Wed. Dec. 4 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Thu. Dec. 5 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa
Fri. Dec. 6 – Austin, TX @ 3TEN ACL Live
Sat. Dec. 7 – Dallas, TX @ The Blue Light Dallas
Tue. Dec. 10 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Wed. Dec. 11 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar
Thu. Dec. 12 – Los Angeles, CA @ Lodge Room
Fri. Jan. 17 – Asbury Park, NJ @ Asbury Lanes
Thu. Jan. 23 – Charlotte, NC @ Blumenthal Performing Arts
Fri. Jan. 24 – Raleigh, NC @ Kings Barcade
Sat. Jan. 25 – Virginia Beach, CA @ Smartmouth Brewery
Tue. Jan. 28 – Northampton, MA @ Iron Horse Music Hall
Wed. Jan. 29 – Fairfield, CT @ Stage One
Fri. Jan. 31 – Burlington, VT @ Arts Riot
Sat. Feb. 1 – Portsmouth, NH @ 3s Artspace
Sat. Feb. 15 – Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy & Harriet’s
Sun. Feb. 16 – Morro Bay, CA @ The Siren
Mon. Feb. 17 – Mill Valley, CA @ Sweetwater Music Hall
Sat. Feb. 22 – Winnipeg, MB @ Festival du Voyager
Fri. March 27 – Brighton, UK @ Patterns
Sat. March 28 – London, UK @ Oslo
Mon. March 30 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie
Tue. March 31 – Antwerp, BE @ Kavka VZW
Wed. April 1 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Noord
Thu. April 2 – Rotterdam, NL @ Bird
Sat. April 4 – Hamburg, DE @ Bahnhof Pauli
Sun. April 5 – Berlin, DE @ Privatclub
Mon. April 6 – Cologne, DE @ Blue Shell
Tue. April 7 – Zurich, CH @ Exil
Thu. April 9 – Zaragoza, ES @ Rock & Blues Café
Fri. April 10 – Barcelona, ES @ La Nau

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently