WXPN
Search
Donate
Menu

Singer-songwriter rock and roller and all around awesome lady Caroline Rose spent the better part of two years on the road in support of an album that in many ways was her breakout. This spring, she’s taking the next step, manifesting her own fate with her latest record; Caroline Rose is going from Loner to Superstar.

The record is described as set of songs tied together by a cinematic narrative following one person’s quest to become something bigger than themself. It sounds like a road movie in album form, and we get a sense of that in the music video for the lead single “Feel The Way I Want,” a slick disco pop jam in the spirit of Natalie Prass’ “Short Court Style.” In brilliant footage from Los Angeles, New Orleans, Florida, and many other places on the map, we meet Rose’s protagonist: an aspiring actor who has to get from one audition to another, with thousands of miles of open highway in between.

Rose directed the video, shot it on a smart phone, and said the intent is to “have people, including myself, not know whether to love or hate this person. They’re kind of like a walking eye roll who’s easy to dismiss, but at the same time you admire their determination. It’s the Kanye effect.”

Superstar is out March 6 on New West, is available for preorder here, and you can check out the track listing, cover art, and Rose’s tour dates, along with the “Feel The Way I Want” video, down below. Rose plays Underground Arts in Philadelphia on March 27th; tickets and more information on the show can be found at the XPN Concert Calendar.

Superstar Tracklist
1. Nothing’s Impossible
2. Got To Go My Own Way
3. Do You Think We’ll Last Forever?
4. Feelings Are A Thing Of The Past
5. Feel The Way I Want
6. Freak Like Me
7. Someone New
8. Pipe Dreams
9. Command Z
10. Back At The Beginning
11. I Took A Ride

Caroline Rose’s Superstar | album art by Signe Pierce

Tour Dates
Fri. March 6 – Albany, NY @ The Hollow
Sat. March 7 – Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground
Wed. March 11 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Café
Thu. March 12 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Café
Fri. March 13 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern
Sat. March 14 – Columbus, OH @ Skully’s
Wed. March 25 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Thu. March 26 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Fri. March 27 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts
Sat. March 28 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat
Wed. April 1 – Iowa City, IA @ Mission Creek Music Festival
Thu. April 2 – Milwaukee, WI @ Turner Hall Ballroom
Fri. April 3 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Sat. April 4 – Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line Music Hall
Fri. April 24 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada
Sat. April 25 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall: Upstairs
Sun. April 26 – Austin, TX @ Antone’s
Tue. April 28 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa
Wed. April 29 – Oxford, MS @ Proud Larry’s
Thu. April 30 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement East
Fri. May 1 – Sun. May 3 – Atlanta, GA @ Shaky Knees Festival

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently