PRESS PLAY: 9 New Albums out September 25th! - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart
Sylvan Esso | photo via sylvanesso.bandcamp,com

It’s time to #PressPlay on a selection of new albums out today! That list includes the genre-defying duo Sylvan Esso who release their third album Free Love. Built on beats and the ethereal beauty of Amelia Meath’s vocals and delivery, Free Love only furthers their ascent. Nana Adjoa the Dutch-Ghanian songwriter (and XPN “Artist to Watch”) shines on her full-length debut Big Dreaming Ants, out now. Sufjan Stevens dissects our current culture on his first album since 2015, The Ascension. Also this week, Lydia Loveless finds her independence on Daughter, the first album on her own label. There’s new music from the husband/wife pairing The War & Treaty, a raging new collection from Bob Mould, and another well-crafted batch of songs from the always dependable Blitzen Trapper. And lastly, Philly represents with new albums from Sad13, the solo effort from Sadie Dupuis of Speedy Ortiz, and The Menzingers who re-imagine their 2019 album Hello Exile in stripped-down form, From Exile.

Sylvan Esso – Free Love

We LOVE: “Ferris Wheel”; “Rooftop Dancing”

Nana Adjoa – Big Dreaming Ants

We LOVE: “She’s Stronger”; “No Room”

Sufjan Stevens – The Ascension

We LOVE: “Video Game”; “Sugar”

The War and Treaty – Hearts Town

We LOVE: “Five More Minutes”; “Jealousy”

Lydia Loveless – Daugther

We LOVE: “Love Is Not Enough”

Bob Mould – Blue Hearts

We LOVE: “Forecast of Rain”

Sad13 – Haunted Painting

We LOVE: “Ghost (of a Good Time)”

Blitzen Trapper – Holy Smokes Future Jokes

WE LOVE: “Hazy Morning”

The Menzingers – From Exile

We LOVE: “Strawberry Mansion”

Related Content

No news added recently