Andy Shauf's 2022 tour brings him to Union Transfer - WXPN
WXPN
Search
Donate
Menu

Acclaimed Saskatchewan singer-songwriter Andy Shauf released his sixth album, The Neon Skyline just before the Cornavirus lockdown of 2020 — and he’s finally getting to tour in support of it in 2022.

This week, Shauf announced a run of tour dates, beginning this fall with a handful of warmup shows around the midwest, and kicking into full gear in February; his rescheduled Philadelphia appearance happens on Wednesday, March 31st at Union Transfer, and tickets are on sale now.

Announcements for concerts at this point are subject to change due to the uncertainty of the COVID-19 pandemic, and though Union Transfer does not have any specific COVID safety information on their website yet, promoter Sean Agnew told us in our recent story about the return of concerts that “We will almost certainly enforce masks for the foreseeable future. Lots of states are talking about showing proof of a vaccine OR taking a same day COVID test to attend a concert. We aren’t quite sure yet what to expect, but whatever the state and city decides — we’ll be sure to follow along and welcome everyone back in a SAFE manner.”

The Neon Skyline followed Shauf’s terrific, narrative-driven 2016 album The Party, and this week’s tour announcement comes with a new music video directed by Anne Douris — sibling of World Cafe’s Raina Douris, for those of you keeping score at home. In a press statement about the video, Anne says:

“This is a story about growing up lonely. In particular, it’s about how wage labour – the business of having to work to survive – shapes our lives from the moment we are born. I think we mistake childhood as being a time of ‘freedom’ when actually our lives are entangled in the struggle of working adults. So I wanted to weave together these scenes of childhood solitude, foggy recollections of being left alone in our empty house, where playfulness and imagination are tainted by fear. Fear of the dark, fear of abandonment, fear of loss. Visually inspired by the NFB cartoons I devoured as a kid, I wanted it to feel like an old worn out memory, discoloured by time and distorted each time it’s remembered. Like these memories that we don’t share with anyone else are more vulnerable – ephemeral to the point of disintegrating.”

Watch the “Living Room” video below, and get tickets and more information on Andy Shauf’s Union Transfer show here. The Neon Skyline is available now via ANTI- Records.

Tour Dates
Thu. Sept. 9 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw
Fri. Sept. 10 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw
Tue. Sept. 14 – Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre *
Wed. Sept. 15 – Grand Rapids, MI @ Calvin College *
Thu. Sept. 16 – Indianapolis, IN @ Hi-Fi
Fri. Sept. 17 – Cleveland, OH @ The Grog Shop *
Thu. Feb. 3, 2022 – Ottawa, ON @ Bronson Centre
Fri. Feb. 4, 2022 – Montreal, QC @ Corona Theatre
Sat. Feb. 5, 2022 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall
Sun. Feb. 6, 2022 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall
Thu. Feb. 17, 2022 – Sheffield, MA @ Race Brook Lodge
Fri. Feb. 18, 2022 – Woodstock, NY @ Colony Cafe
Sun. Feb. 20, 2022 – Charlottesville, VA @ The Southern Music Hall
Tue. Feb. 22, 2022 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle
Wed. Feb. 23, 2022 – Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle
Thu. Feb. 24, 2022 – Birmingham, AL @ Saturn
Fri. Feb. 25, 2022 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West
Tue. March 30, 2022 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat
Wed. March 31, 2022 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Sun. April 3, 2022 – Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club
Mon. April 18, 2022 – Düdingen, CH @ Bad Bonn
Wed. April 20, 2022 – Mérignac, FR @ Le Krakatoa
Thu. April 21, 2022 – Paris, FR @ Trianon
Fri. April 22, 2022 – Rouen, FR @ Le 106
Sat. April 23, 2022 – Esch-Sur-Alzette, LU @ Kulturfabrik
Sun. April 24, 2022 – Utrecht, NL @ Tivoli Vredenburg
Mon. April 25, 2022 – Rotterdam, NL @ Rotown
Tue. April 26, 2022 – Nijmegen, NL @ Doornroosje
Thu. April 28, 2022 – Copenhagen, DK @ Loppen
Fri. April 29, 2022 – Oslo, NO @ Ingensteds
Sat. April 30, 2022 – Stockholm, SE @ Nalen Klubb
Mon. May 2, 2022 – Hamburg, DE @ Knust
Tue. May 3, 2022 – Berlin, DE @ Silent Green
Thu. May 5, 2022 – Bruxelles, BE @ Les Nuits Botanique Festival
Fri. May 6, 2022 – Cologne, DE @ Luxor
Sat. May 7, 2022 – Genk, BE @ Little Waves Festival
Mon. May 9, 2022 – Birmingham, UK @ The Castle & Falcon
Tue. May 10, 2022 – Edinburgh, UK @ Summerhall
Wed. May 11, 2022 – Glasgow, UK @ Drygate
Thu. May 12, 2022 – Manchester, UK @ Gorilla
Fri. May 13, 2022 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Sat. May 14, 2022 – Bristol, UK @ Fiddlers
Sun. May 15, 2022 – Brighton, UK @ Chalk
Mon. May 16, 2022 – London, UK @ Shepherd’s Bush Empire
Wed. May 18, 2022 – Belfast, UK @ Empire
Thu. May 19, 2022 – Dublin, IE @ Button Factory
Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently