PRESS PLAY: 9 New Albums out June 4th - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart
Japanese Breakfast | photo by Pete Ash Lee | courtesy of the artist

The new month brings a new crop of albums to your waiting ears. A longtime Philadelphia favorite (and recent XPN Artist to Watch), Michelle Zauner follows her bestselling memoir Crying in H Mart with the third full-length from her band Japanese Breakfast. True to its name, Jubilee is an exuberant collection of synth- and guitar-driven melodies, coupled with Zauner’s personal and evocative lyrics. Making a welcome return after an 11-year break, Soberish reaffirms Liz Phair‘s legacy as a figurehead of effortlessly cool guitar pop. Now five years removed from his formal departure from Vampire Weekend, omnivorous writer-producer Rostam delivers his second solo album, Changephobia. Veteran pop purveyors Crowded House stage their own return with Dreamers Are Waiting, the first release from the Neil Finn-fronted group since 2010. Producers Adrian Younge and Ali Shaheed Muhammad continue their ongoing Jazz is Dead series, this time partnering with 86 year-old bossa nova titan João Donato for the project’s seventh installment. Tristen‘s Aquatic Flowers melds the ear-catching melodies of the Nashville singer’s early releases with adventurous textures and atmospherics. Laysongs is the first completely solo album from Chris Thile, a showcase for the Nickel Creek member’s peerless mandolin virtuosity. English rockers Wolf Alice deliver crunch and glitter on Blue Weekend, their third full-length. Finally, The Problem of Leisure: A Celebration of Andy Gill and Gang of Four gives the pioneering Leeds quartet (and its late guitarist) the tribute treatment from IDLES, Warpaint, Gary Numan, and more . PRESS PLAY on these new albums and others below…

Japanese BreakfastJubilee
WE LOVE: “Be Sweet” “Posing in Bondage” “Savage Good Boy”

Liz Phair – Soberish
WE LOVE: “Spanish Doors” “Good Side” “Hey Lou”

Rostam – Changephobia
WE LOVE: “From the Back of a Cab” “4Runner”

Crowded HouseDreamers Are Waiting
WE LOVE: “To the Island” “Playing with Fire”

João Donato, Adrian Younge & Ali Shaheed MuhammadJoão Donato JID007
WE LOVE: “Forever More” ” Não Negue Seu Coracão”

Tristen Aquatic Flowers
WE LOVE: “Complex” “Wrong With You”

Chris Thile – Laysongs
WE LOVE: “Dionysus” “Laysong”

Wolf AliceBlue Weekend
WE LOVE: “No Hard Feelings” “The Last Man on Earth”

Various Artists – The Problem of Leisure: A Celebration of Andy Gill and Gang of Four
WE LOVE: Warpaint – “Paralysed” IDLES – “Damaged Goods”

EXTENDED PLAYS (even more new albums out this week)
Sam FiliatreauSam Filiatreau, Black River DeltaShakin’, Overcoats Used to Be Scared of the Dark EP, Gary LourisJump for Joy, Raheem DeVaughn & Apollo BrownLovesick, Hildegard Hildegard, James All the Colours of You, Loraine JamesReflection, Jonny Kosmo Pastry, Juana MolinaSegundo (21st Anniversary Remaster), Billy F. GibbonsWest Coast Junkie, JOMORO Blue Marble Sky

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently