Ibeyi has #NONCOMM under their 'Spell 31' - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart

It’s been five years since twin sisters Lisa-Kainde and Naomi Diaz last released a new album as Ibeyi, but that changes at midnight, when their third LP Spell 31 drops via XL Recordings. Overtop a tide of rippling electronic beats and synthesizer lines at #NONCOMM today, Ibeyi previewed half the new record for a Free at Noon crowd, along with a couple dips into their back catalog.

The uplifting of “Made Of Gold” made for an impressive entrance, with the Diaz siblings trading bars and making dance moves as the BPM stayed high. “Rise Up Wise Up Eyes Up” followed — it’s their 2018 one-off single inspired by Hamilton‘s “The World Was Wide Enough,” and featured Naomi on Batá drum — then their yearning Jorja Smith collaboration “Lavendar and Red Roses,” and the simmering warm synth tones of “Sangoma.”

Whatever the ambience of the song at hand, Ibeyi’s strengths were twofold: their vocal harmonies are divine and their mutual charisma is arresting. When they moved, you wanted to move as well, and “Sister 2 Sister” from the new album got the room moving; when they sang out, you wanted to respond, which is where they took us with a closing performance of their 2015 single, “River,” extending the song into a call and response with the audience.

Look for Spell 31 at midnight over at their website, and check out their 2022 tour dates while you’re there; Ibeyi will be back in Philadelphia October 4th at Union Transfer, and more information on the show can be found at our Concert Calendar.

  • Made of Gold
  • Rise Up Wise Up Eyes Up
  • Lavender and Red Roses
  • Sangoma
  • Rise Above
  • Sister 2 Sister
  • River
Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently