EVER-EXPANDING, indeed. For the Philly debut of his solo project of that very name, Dr. Dog co-frontperson Scott McMicken packed the World Cafe Live stage with makers of sound and players of instruments. A rough count included three drummers — alternating between rock kit, marching bass drum, and other auxiliary percussion instruments — two guitarists, two keyboardists, and various odds and ends like panflutes and chimes.

It was a lot to take in, but it was also a lot of fun in a delightfully psychedelic way. McMicken’s voice sounded immaculate, and he seemed loose, like he was having a great time on stage. “Another One” had a tropical conga lead and a Harry Nilsson feel, while “Restart” found the band embracing their inner Grateful Dead. “What About Now” rollicked like a great campfire jam, “Mountain Lion” mediated in an icy dub haze, and “Letter To The Editor” built up to a fake-out ending that almost caught the crowd.

This live iteration of THE EVER-EXPANDING — which includes Jared Samuel on keys and lead guitar,  Zach Tenorio Miller on guitar, Mike Nau on bass, Elizabeth Pupo-Walker on percussion, and multi-instrumentalists Neil Ochoa, Nick Kinsey, and Benny Yurco. “Meeting these guys making this music has been a wonderful part of the last year,” McMicken said before whipping the crowd into a delightful finale of crowd participation on “All My Friends.”

Listen to the set below and see Scott McMicken and THE EVER-EXPANDING this Sunday, April 23rd at the TLA on South Street. Tickets and more information can be found at WXPN’s Concerts and Events page.

Scott McMicken and THE EVER-EXPANDING Free at Noon - 04.21.2023
Free At Noon
  • Reconcile
  • Another One
  • Restart
  • What About Now
  • Mountain Lion
  • Ace In The Whole
  • Letters To The Editor
  • All My Friends