This holiday weekend, toss a few new releases on the grill and dig in. Fresh off a stellar NonComm showcase (and World Cafe interview), Arlo Parks follows up her Mercury Prize-winning Collapsed in Sunbeams with the self-assured My Soft Machine. Kevin Morby reworks last year’s already masterful This is a Photograph from the ground up into More Photographs (A Continuum), which also features three new songs. Following the twin successes of their musical film Annette and Edgar Wright’s loving documentary The Sparks Brothers, iconoclastic L.A. duo Sparks are as restlessly creative as ever on their 26th studio album, The Girl is Crying in Her Latte. Another ambitious duo, Brooklyn’s Water from Your Eyes, play with sound and structure on Everyone’s Crushed, their fifth release and first for 4AD.

Miya Folick‘s Roach is a propulsive examination of the L.A. songwriter’s own self; embracing the aspects that bring joy and exorcising those that don’t. An original member of the legendary Buena Vista Social Club, Cuban guitarist Eliades Ochoa is joined by Joan as Police Woman and Charlie Musselwhite on his solo release Guajiro.

PRESS PLAY on these new releases below. Listen for spotlights on new records like these (and more) every Friday on the XPN Morning Show and Indie Rock Hit Parade.

Arlo ParksMy Soft Machine
CHECK OUT: “Weightless” “Blades”

Kevin MorbyMore Photographs (A Continuum)
CHECK OUT: “This is a Photograph II” “Five Easy Pieces Revisited”

SparksThe Girl is Crying in Her Latte
CHECK OUT: “The Girl is Crying in Her Latte” “Nothing is as Good as They Say It Is”

Water from Your EyesEveryone’s Crushed
CHECK OUT: “True Life” “14”

Kool & The GangPeople Just Wanna Have Fun
CHECK OUT: “Let’s Party (feat. Sha Sha Jones)” “We Are the Party”

Miya FolickRoach
CHECK OUT: “Get Out of My House” “So Clear”

Eliades OchoaGuajiro
CHECK OUT: “Se Soltó un León” “Creo en la Naturaleza (feat. Joan as Police Woman)”

AJJDisposable Everything,
The BarnestormersThe Barnstormers, BayonneTemporary Time, Boy & BearBoy & Bear, CalexicoFeast of Wire (20th Anniversary Deluxe Edition), Charley CrockettThe Man from Waco Redux, ClarkSus Dog, Daniel BlumbergGUT, The Dirty NilFree Rein to Passions , Don LettsOutta Sync, The Exploding HeartsGuitar Romantic (Expanded & Remastered), Kassa OverallAnimals, Low CoastExisting the Dream, Matchbox TwentyWhere the Light Goes, Miranda and the BeatMiranda and the Beat, The OriellesThe Goyt Method EP, Passion PitGossamer (Expanded Edition), Pere UbuTrouble on Big Beat Street, quickly, quicklyEasy Listening EP, Radiator HospitalCan’t Make Any Promises, Shirley CollinsArchangel Hill, Simply RedTime, SuicideA Way of Life (35th Anniversary Edition), Tame ImpalaLonerism (10 Year Anniversary Box Set), Wolf EyesDreams in Splattered Lines, Various Artists – Nuclear War: A Tribute to Sun Ra: Volume 1