Created by the multi-faceted force that is Sadie Dupuis, Philly indie rock band Speedy Ortiz will be releasing their fifth album, Rabbit Rabbit, in September. It’s their first new record in five years; following 2018’s LP Twerp Verse, the band re-released their debut project packaged with a handful of unreleased tracks as The Death of Speedy Ortiz and Cop Kicker …Forever in 2021 for its 10-year anniversary.

The new record will feature longtime touring members Audrey Zee Whitesides on bass and Joey Doubek on drums, who have now joined guitarist Andy Holholt and Dupuis as full-time recording members of the band. In addition to the four bandmates,, Sarah Tudzin of Illuminati Hotties co-produced and mixed the record.

Speedy Ortiz has dropped three singles from the new album so far this year, leading off with “Scabs” in April; a quirky, off-kilter track with an unpredictable arrangement. They continued with “You S02” on June 1st and “Plus One” on June 28th, which both deliver punk-inspired guitar tones and loud hooks. While not a distinctive step away from past styles, their new tracks offer some variation from the slower lo-fi recordings on The Death of Speedy Ortiz and the synth-heavy Twerp Verse hit “Lucky 88.”

Rabbit Rabbit will be released on Dupuis’  label Wax Nine a departure from the band’s long-time home Carpark Records (an imprint known for housing acts such as Beach House, Toro Y Moi, and The Beths throughout the years). Along with her label, Dupuis also creates under the side project Sad13, and has worked with Backxwash and Lizzo.

Speedy Ortiz’s tour begins on July 28th in Chicago, and will stop at Johnny Brenda’s in Philadelphia on Sept. 5th. Full tour dates and tickets are available now through the band’s website, and the new album Rabbit Rabbit can be pre-ordered and pre-saved here.

Speedy Ortiz - Plus One