Cloistering yourself up next to the open refrigerator with a bunch of new albums is certainly one way to beat the heat. With Natural Disaster, Bethany Cosentino steps away from Best Coast with a strong set of jangly Americana produced by Butch Walker. Deft harmonies are always the main draw of a new Darlingside record; on Everything is Alive each member is given their own moment in the spotlight. Strings and electronic rhythms get folded into The Clientele’s signature chamber pop sound on I am Not There Anymore. After records produced by Toro y Moi and Wye Oak, Bay Area musician Madeline Kenney imbues her fourth album, A New Reality Mind, with bold textures to compliment her open-hearted lyrics.

New Orleans jazz virtuoso Chief Xian aTunde Adjuah (formerly Christian Scott) trades his trumpet for a handmade harp to honor his Xodokan Nation heritage on Bark Out Thunder Roar Out Lightning. Following an 11-year break (and the Fall 2021 death of drummer Dee Pop), New York no wave mainstays Bush Tetras team up with Sonic Youth’s Steve Shelley for the aggressive and adventurous They Live in My Head. A favorite among the ‘deep listening’ for his ’80s Keyboard Fantasies, Beverly Glenn-Copeland turns in a stylish and cinematic set on The Ones Ahead.

PRESS PLAY on these new releases below. Listen for spotlights on new records like these (and more) every Friday on the XPN Morning Show and Indie Rock Hit Parade.

Bethany CosentinoNatural Disaster
CHECK OUT: “It’s Fine” “For a Moment”

DarlingsideEverything is Alive
CHECK OUT: “Eliza I See” “All the Lights in the City”

The ClienteleI am Not There Anymore
CHECK OUT: “Blue Over Blue” “Claire’s Not Real”

Madeline KenneyA New Reality Mind
CHECK OUT: “Superficial Conversation” “I Drew a Line”

Chief Xian aTunde AdjuahBark Out Thunder Roar Out Lightning
CHECK OUT: “Blood Calls Blood” “Xodokan Iko – Hu Na Ney”

Bush TetrasThey Live in My Head
CHECK OUT: “Things I Put Together” “They Live in My Head”

Beverly Glenn-CopelandThe Ones Ahead
CHECK OUT: “Africa Calling” “Stand Anthem”

Aphex TwinBlackbox Life Recorder 21f / in a room7 F760 EP,
Billy IdolBilly Idol (Expanded Edition), BradIn the Moment That You’re Born, The Budos BandFrontier’s Edge EP, Burnside ProjectThe Networks, The Circuits, The Streams, The Harmonies (20th Anniversary Expanded Edition), Carly Rae JepsenThe Loveliest Time, Daniel RossenLive in Pioneertown & Santa Fe, DexysThe Feminine Divine, DJ KozeWespennest EP, EchosmithEchosmith, GeorgiaEuphoric, Hailey WhittersI’m in Love EP, High PulpDays in the Desert, Jessy LanzaLove Hallucination, Joni MitchellAT NEWPORT, Nick LoweDig My Mood (25th Anniversary Edition), Peter FramptonFrampton@50, Post MaloneAustin, Primal ScreamReverberations (Travelling in Time), The ProdigyThe Fat of the Land: 25th Anniversary Remixes, PWNTPlay What’s Not There, Richard WrightWet Dream (Reissue), Ruth MascelliNon-Stop Healing Frequency, Soft Cell*Happiness now completed / *Happiness now extended, Sore Dream and Hisham Akira BharoochaSore Dream x Hisham Akira Bharoocha, Steve Gunn, John Truscinski, and Bill NaceGlass Band, Stevie NicksComplete Studio Albums & Rarities, SUSTOMy Entire Life, Travis ScottUtopia, William the ConquerorExcuse Me While I Vanish, Various Artists – Raised by Rap: 50 Years of Hip Hop