PRESS PLAY: New Albums out May 24th - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart

The unofficial start of summer officially begins with this week’s officially (un)official new releases. A fiery double LP, Blue Electric Light is the generous 12th album (and first in six years) from Lenny Kravitz. Though not a complete return to his Bowl of Fire era, Andrew Bird’s Sunday Morning Put-On finds the versatile multi-instrumentalist in a charming trio mode with bassist Alan Hampton and drummer Ted Poor. Following a 2023 solo album from bandleader Shana Cleveland, La Luz arrives at a crossroads on News of the Universe; it’s their first with drummer Audrey Johnson and their last with keyboardist Alice Sandahl and bassist Lena Simon.

Named in honor of his imminent birthday, Paul Weller’s 66 is the soulful 17th solo album from the venerable “modfather.” Frog in Boiling Water, the shivering fourth album by New York rockers DIIV, rewards focused listening as its tracks unfold. Chicago art-pop duo Finom team up with producer/avowed fan Jeff Tweedy for Not God, their first full-length under their revamped moniker. Call a Doctor, the theatrical debut by Australia’s Girl and Girl, is a modern twist on classic down-under guitar-led indie rock.

Listen for spotlights on new records like these (and more) every week on the XPN Morning Show and Indie Rock Hit Parade.

PRESS PLAY on these new releases

Lenny KravitzBlue Electric Light
CHECK OUT: “Human” “Paralyzed”

Andrew Bird TrioSunday Morning Put-On
CHECK OUT: “I Fall in Love Too Easily” “I Cover the Waterfront”

La LuzNews of the Universe
CHECK OUT: “Strange World” “I’ll Go with You”

Paul Weller66
CHECK OUT: “Soul Wandering” “Rise Up Singing”

DIIVFrog in Boiling Water
CHECK OUT: “Brown Paper Bag” “Soul-net”

FinomNot God
CHECK OUT: “Haircut” “Cyclops”

Girl and GirlCall a Doctor
CHECK OUT: “Hello” “Mother”



Allegra LevyOut of the Question, Bill MackayLocust Land, Brian Eno, Holger Czukay, and J. Peter SchwalmSushi! Roti! Reibekuchen!, Carlos Niño & FriendsPlacenta, The ChameleonsWhere Are You? EP, Faux RealFaux Ever, Field GuideRootin’ for Ya, John ButlerRunning River, KÁRYYNCalm KAOSS! EP, Kim RicheyEvery New Beginning, Kinky5 Disparos EP, Kyle AndrewsThe Whims of a Manic Moon, LionlimbLimbo, Low HumTerra Incognita, MotoristsTouched by the Stuff, myu zyuNothing or Something to Die For, PardonerParanoid in Hell EP, Say Anything…Is Committed, Tim EastonFind Your Way, Tiny HabitsAll for Something, Twenty One PilotsClancy, Winter…and she’s still listening EP, YesTalk (30th Anniversary Edition), YolaMy Way EP, Young JesusThe Fool, Various Artists – Your Voice is Not Enough

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently