PRESS PLAY: New Albums out May 31st - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart

With fond memories of the past two and a half dozen days, we bid farewell to May with this week’s newly released albums. Containing sharply crafted anthems and peerless harmonies, Palace of Depression is the long-awaited sophomore album from Philly’s premiere psychedelic Americana collective, Cosmic Guilt. A showcase for namesake lead vocalist María Zardoya, The MaríasSubmarine follows the young LA band’s launch to festival-ready stardom. Neil Finn and the third iteration of Crowded House take stock of their legacy on Gravity Stairs. Grammy-winning composer Arooj Aftab’s Night Reign is a dreamy opus that features guest appearances by Cautious Clay, Moor Mother, and Kaki King.

Born in Uganda and based in Austin, Jon Muq offers a lively globetrotting sound on his Dan Auerbach-produced debut, Flying Away. His first album in six years, Richard Thompson’s Ship to Shore is a canny blend of folk, jazz, and soul that features plenty of signature guitar flourish. Natasha Khan’s own motherhood journey becomes the supernatural folktale at the center of Bat for Lashes’ sixth album, The Dream of Delphi. On The Border, his 75th solo studio album (and first as a Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee), Willie Nelson covers Rodney Crowell and debuts four new compositions co-written with longtime collaborator Buddy Cannon.

Listen for spotlights on new records like these (and more) every week on the XPN Morning Show and Indie Rock Hit Parade.

PRESS PLAY on these new releases

Cosmic GuiltPalace of Depression
CHECK OUT: “Yesterday’s in the Astral Plane” “Queen of the Dream”

The MaríasSubmarine
CHECK OUT: “Run Your Mouth” “No One Noticed”

Crowded HouseGravity Stairs
CHECK OUT: “Oh Hi” “Teenage Summer”

Arooj AftabNight Reign
CHECK OUT: “Whiskey” “Raat Ki Rani”

Jon MuqFlying Away
CHECK OUT: “Runaway” “Shake Shake”

Richard ThompsonShip to Shore
CHECK OUT: “Singapore Sadie” “Freeze”

Bat for LashesThe Dream of Delphi
CHECK OUT: “Home” “At Your Feet”

Willie NelsonThe Border
CHECK OUT: “The Border” “Made in Texas”



Alan VegaInsurrection, Anastasia CoopeDarning Woman, Anna TivelLiving Thing, Another MichaelPick Me Up, Turn Me Upside Down, Babe ReportDid You Get Better, Beak>>>>>, Bernard ButlerGood Grief, Big Head Todd and the MonstersHer Way Out, Black SabbathANNO DOMINI 1989-1995, Buffalo TomJump Rope, CanCan Live in Aston 1977, Half WaifEphemeral Being EP, IdahoLapse, Jessie BaylinStrawberry Wind (Deluxe Edition), King HannahBig Swimmer, LuciusWildewoman (The New Recordings), Maya HawkeChaos Angel, The MenzingersSome of it Was True (Deluxe Edition), NeutralsNew Town Dream, Nightmares on WaxCarboot Soul (25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition), Noelle & the DesertersHigh Desert Daydream, The Other TwoThe Other Two & You (Reissue), Peter BibbyDrama King, +/-Further Afield, Richard HawleyIn This City They Call You Love, Scott Guild & CindertalkPlastic: The Album, Small Black ArrowsThe British Museum, Swamp Dogg – Blackgrass: From West Virginia to 125th Street, THOUUmbilical, Winnetka Bowling LeagueSha La La, The WogglesTime Has Come, World NewsEscape EP

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently