Leonard Cohen, You Want It Darker album cover

Leonard Cohen turns 82 in September, and what a better way to celebrate than by releasing his first new album in two years, You Want It Darker. The official release date has not yet been announced but is anticipated for the fall. You Want It Darker will feature nine new tracks from Cohen and will be released off of his longtime label Sony Music. This is Cohen’s 14th studio album and follow up to 2014’s Popular Problems. 

A short clip of the album’s title track was featured in the TV drama Peaky Blinders back in June, giving us a sneak preview of what’s to come. There’s certainly a gritty edge and suspenseful nature to what we hear, proving Sony Music’s description of the new songs as “haunting.” You can check out the new album’s track listing as well as the video featuring the song below.


  1. You Want It Darker
  2.  Treaty
  3. On the Level
  4. Leaving the Table
  5. If I Didn’t Have Your Love
  6. Traveling Light
  7. It Seemed the Better Way
  8. Steer Your Way
  9. String Reprise/ Treaty