Listen to Cherry's new hazily addicting track "Under the Sun" - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart
Cherry | photo courtesy of artist

Philly’s Kite Party disbanded a few years back, but in its wake arose a new project from the ashes. It’s called Cherry, and we’ve been fully hyped about them since their musical birth last year, when they released their debut EP Gloom and played some kickbutt shows — including last year’s Key Fest.

Along with Kite Party frontman, Russell Edling, Cherry features KP’s guitarist Justin Fox, Three Man Cannon’s Spenser Colmbs, Lame-O records‘ Eric Osman on drums, and Jesse Kennedy on keys. And this mega group just released a new track titled “Under the Sun,” ahead of their debut full-length album, Dumbness, which will be available for your ears on September 29th.

The new track begins as an easy-going listen with its lazy n’ hazy vibes, but bursts through in energy and addictiveness with shimmering, bright synth and a crunchy, slow jam break. By the final drawn-out clashing of drums, I realized that the song had at some point quietly weaseled its way into my head and heart, and has me incredibly pumped for more sneakily infectious tracks to come.

Check out the video for “Under the Sun” below, which (bonus!) features more than a few dog cameos, in addition to a hilariously lengthy moment of unbroken eye contact whilst a friend of the band floats around on a swing. Just watch the thing and you’ll understand.

Dumbness Tracklisting
1. Dumbness
2. Buttoned Up
3. Under The Sun
4. Majestic Wonderland
5. Cherry
6. Waterfalls
7. Motorcycle Lady
8. Boundaryless
9. Forever Overhead
10. Sametown

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently