PRESS PLAY: New Albums out March 31st - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart

Spring is in the air and so are the sounds of this week’s new releases. Making their long-awaited full-length debut as boygenius, Julien Baker, Lucy Dacus, and Phoebe Bridgers deliver emotional wallops on the record. As they celebrate their 20th anniversary as a band, The Hold Steady offer The Price of Progress, their latest set of churning stream-of-consciousness marathons. Working with outside collaborators for the first time, The New PornographersContinue as a Guest is a ruminative collection wrapped in power pop perfection.

Former Dr. Dog guitarist Scott McMicken assembles a new team of instrumentalists (dubbed the EVER-EXPANDING) for his freewheeling solo debut, SHABANG. On their fifth album in as many years, Altin Gün further their mission of reinventing traditional Turkish folk songs into head-swirling psychedelia. On their first album since their 2019 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction, British originals The Zombies capture a kind of energy that only stems from decades of live performance. Recent World Cafe guest Michigander‘s latest EP, It Will Never Be the Same, showcases bandleader Jason Singer’s knack for irresistible hooks and reassuring positivity.

PRESS PLAY on these new releases below. Listen for spotlights on new records like these (and more) every Friday on the XPN Morning Show and Indie Rock Hit Parade.

boygeniusthe record
CHECK OUT: “Not Strong Enough” “$20”

The Hold SteadyThe Price of Progress
CHECK OUT: “Sideways Skull” “Sixers”

The New PornographersContinue as a Guest
CHECK OUT: “Really Really Light” “Pontius Pilate’s Home Movies”

CHECK OUT: “Reconcile” “What About Now”

Altin GünAşk
CHECK OUT: “Rak​ı​ya Su Katamam” “Leylim Ley”

The ZombiesDifferent Game
CHECK OUT: “Love You While I Can” “Merry-Go-Round”

MichiganderIt Will Never Be the Same EP
CHECK OUT: “Stay Out of It” “Superglue”

A Certain Ratio1982,
Alasdair RobertsGrief in the Kitchen and Mirth in the Hall, Alberta CrossSinking Ships, Andrew McMahon in the WildernessTilt at the Wind No More, B. Cool-AidLeather Blvd., Baba MaalBein, Barrie5K EP, Buzzy LeeInternal Affairs, City and ColourLove Still Held Me Near, Crazy HorseAll Roads Lead Home, DeerhoofMiracle-Level, GelOnly Constant, Jared MattsonPeanut, Katie GatelyFawn / Brute, Kris UlrichBig in the USA, LiesLies, London BrewLondon Brew, Murray A. LightburnOnce Upon a Time in Montreal, The No OnesMy Best Evil Friend, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the DarkDazzle Ships (40th Anniversary Edition), PACKSCrispy Crunchy Nothing, The Pretty ThingsThe Complete Studio Albums 1965-2020PusciferExistential Reckoning: Re-Wired, Sondre LercheAvatars of the Night, Steve Gunn and David MooreLet the Moon Be a Planet, Tyler, the CreatorCALL ME IF YOU GET LOST: The Estate Sale, The White StripesElephant (Deluxe Edition), The WhoThe Who with Orchestra Live at Wembley, Wild ChildEnd of the World, William Tyler & the Impossible TruthSecret Stratosphere, YayenningsYayennings Vol. 2

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently