Jason Isbell on World Cafe
Jason Isbell
Studio Session
  • "Death Wish"
  • "Middle of the Morning"
  • "Super 8"
  • "King of Oklahoma"
  • "Save the World"
  • "If We Were Vampires"
  • "Cast Iron Skillet"

His new album with his band The 400 Unit is a masterclass in character study and storytelling. It’s full of songs that could only be written by someone who is paying very close attention and who has a lot of heart. In this session, Isbell talks about Weathervanes, as well as the recent HBO documentary about his life and career, “Jason Isbell: Running With Our Eyes Closed.”

He also talks about his gig acting in a new Martin Scorsese film and how it inspired one of the songs on the album. You’ll hear that song performed live and a few others too, in a set recorded at The Hall in Little Rock, Ark.