James Murphy features on new song from The Cure’s Lol Tolhurst, Siouxsie drummer Budgie, and Jacknife Lee - WXPN | Vinyl At Heart

Founding member of The Cure Lol Tolhurst, Siouxsie drummer Budgie, and producer Jacknife Lee (R.E.M, U2, Snow Patrol) have announced a collaborative debut album titled Los Angeles. Set for release on November 3 via PIAS Recordings, the album boasts contributions from Bobby Gillespie of Primal Scream, U2’s The Edge, Mark Bowen of IDLES, Isaac Brock of Modest Mouse, and on the album teaser, James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem.

“Los Angeles” is the trio’s first single and album’s title track, complete with gothic synths, heavy percussion, and Murphy’s distinctive vocal yelps. In true LCD fashion, Murphy tears down societal norms with poignant lyrics like “Los Angeles eats its babies! Los Angeles eats its young! Los Angeles, you don’t need water! Los Angeles just needs guns!” The accompanying music video is notably absent of LCD’s founder and frontman however, with producer John Liwag instead focusing on the scenery of Hollywood’s home. Throughout the short film, Jacknife Lee lip syncs the words between sharp black and white shots of L.A skateboarders and punk rock cheerleaders, segmented by the occasional cut of Lol Tolhurst pounding out the song’s rhythm behind the drum kit.

Check out the music video for “Los Angeles” and the upcoming album’s tracklist below.

Los Angeles - Los Angeles (ft. James Murphy)

Los Angeles:
1 This Is What It Is (To Be Free) (with Bobby Gillespie)
2 Los Angeles (with James Murphy)
3 Uh Oh (with Arrow de Wilde and Mark Bowen)
4 Ghosted at Home (with Bobby Gillespie)
5 Train With No Station (with The Edge)
6 Bodies (with Lonnie Holley and Mary Lattimore)
7 Everything and Nothing
8 Travel Channel (with Pan Amsterdam)
9 Country of the Blind (with Bobby Gillespie)
10 The Past (Being Eaten)
11 We Got To Move (with Isaac Brock)
12 Noche Oscura (with The Edge)
13 Skins (with James Murphy)

Related Content
View All Related Content

No news added recently